Time For A Massage!

Im not talking about myself, don’t be daft! I wouldn’t pay for that for myself, no, we’re talking about equine deep muscle massage. This is the reason I haven’t been to the hairdressers in a year!! Horses, dogs and children come way before me (not in that order of course, I promise!) For the pricely sum of £30 Finlay got an MOT (service)

This was long overdue, I’ve always known he was stiff on his offside (right side) and he has had shiatsu treatments but he was feeling quite off! So it was time for something a bit more substantial, something more physical to get to the root of the problem. This is where Irene comes in.

Irene works with divining rods initially when gets to work massaging the affected area. I had never seen this technique before but she was highly recommended by the professional trainer at my yard. Im very open to alternative therapies and have, in the past, given healing (channelling energy) to humans and animals. So when Irene began I was full of questions, how she got started with divining rods, was it a spiritual connection, what guided her (the rods or spirit) She told me that she is a spiritualist and frequently attends ghost hunting weekends!

To some this may be amusing but if you saw what she did for Finlay you’d change your mind!

She stood on his near side first (left) the rods immediately started spinning wildly, the over to the other side which was exactly the same. I had given her very little information (wanted to see if she would pick up on what I already knew) Very quickly she said he was sore on both sides just behind the shoulder but much worse on the offside. Correct!

In fact he was really sore! My poor boy was climbing the wall when she started to massage the muscles. It was quite frightening to watch just how sore it was! I felt so guilty I hadn’t done this sooner. Finlay never really showed any real problem. Never disagreed when tacking up or girthing up etc. But last week I notice his stride shorten, so stopped riding that day and called Irene.

Irene explained that this problem has been there for years, long before I got him and that he’s had some kind of trauma on his offside. I’d always suspected this because that’s his stiff side, he sweats more on that side, lies on that side, always turns to the right (in his stable, spooking etc) Anything that means he doesn’t have to stretch his offside.

As Irene worked away he slowly began to feel more comfortable. I could visible see the blood flow returning to the muscle, a very slight pulse could be seen and the whole area was very soft. Finlay was breathing huge sighs of relief and resting his head in my arms. My beloved boy was finally feeling relaxed. Irene commented regularly about how lovely Finlay was, not in looks, in personality/energy. This is the exact same feeling I got when I first set eyes on him two and a half years ago. It was a spiritual connection.

Finn now has two days in the field (today and tomorrow) I will lunge on Saturday and saddle on Sunday.

Irene is a fascinating person, she works with top horses all over the country. Eventer Lenamore one example! Yet she loves nothing more than sleeping in a haunted house looking for ghosts. Add to that her 5ft2″ stature and broad Glasgow accent (imagine the Crankies, Janette, Scottish comedy legend) then you get a rather un-horsey looking person lol But never a truer word than don’t judge a book by its cover. She’s extremely professional and one of the nicest people Ive ever met!

Finlay is to have a follow up in two weeks time. On reflection I believe the months spent at the pervious yard compounded this hidden problem. The anxiety and stress increased the tension in his muscles leading to a sore Finnie.  x

10 thoughts on “Time For A Massage!

  1. Wow sounds brilliant. I had a great lass in Cork for massaging the horses, she just used her hands and could feel stiff and tight spots just by running her hands over the horse’s body. Aero was suspicious of her at first, but after she’d loosened up his hamstrings once or twice, he’d turn his bum towards her as soon as she came into the stable, look backwards at her as much as to say “Go on then, get to work!”
    Hope FInlay is better afterwards too. DO you think you’ll need to get her back again?
    Despite my emotional post I still haven’t ridden, my back is not right and I’m afraid of crippling myself again. ANother app with the osteo on Monday. Hope I’ll feel better after that x

  2. Sounds like he really needed that. The Crankies – now we’re showing our age! lol… Bob’s having a massage today so hope it’s as good for him. I haven’t ridden for a week as he pulled a muscle – can’t believe how achey I feel I’m sure riding keeps me more supple. Nice to hear how Finlay is settling and relaxing now. x

  3. Sounds amazing FM, good to hear it did Finlay wonders. Btw, you say “(not in that order of course, I promise!)”, I’m afraid to say it would be in that order in this household lol.

Leave a Reply

