Times Are A Changing.

020Hello wordpress world, there have been a few changes in my little world of late. The most monumental was my youngest son starting primary school.

I was a tad anxious about A starting school but a week in and so far so good. It took him such a long time to settle into the nursery routine I was concerned he may find school difficult. I know its early days but Im really happy and he seems very happy too! Seeing him dressed in his school uniform, shirt and tie, makes me burst with pride and  tear in my eye. My baby is growing up too fast.

The other big change was, not quite as momentous as the first but actually more stressful!

Ten days ago I took the decision to move yards. After 6 months of trying to accommodate other people, watching my horse become more and more neurotic and the increased yard politics, I couldn’t stay there a day longer. Ive been thinking of moving for some time originally hoping to rent a small yard myself. It quickly became apparent that this option was just about impossible. So, after looking at a couple of yards where DIY was available I picked one. The following day I told the yard owner I was leaving in three days. End of!!  

Moving day was Saturday 17th, with the help of my very good friend, it went with out a hitch! that was the first good omen. Arriving at our new home during a torrential down pour ( I was on my third jacket by this time) we were greeted by the yard owner Denise.

Denise owns the yard but most of it is rented by a professional showjumper and his partner where they produce youngsters for competition. They also have their own horses plus schooling liveries (people who pay them to work their horses) The pro’s horses are like the F1 of the horse world. Me and Finlay are more the RAC Rally haha!

Denise uses a couple of stables for livery horses and I am lucky to be one! Everyone appears to be friendly and helpful, a really laid back atmosphere!

With in an hour of being in his new stable Finlay was already calmer. I really couldn’t believe what I was seeing, this horse who had become so upset in his previous stable where even grooming him had become impossible was now completely chilled out!!

Five days on and he’s just getting better and better! He now doesn’t bother when his neighbour goes out leaving him, he doesn’t barge the door or chew constantly. He has his own paddock next to his stable neighbour and is now happily turnout out everyday!

Non horsey readers will think, whats all the fuss about lol, well moving a horse is a bit like moving house! Stress! But now that its all done I couldn’t be happier! I finally have my lovely boy back, my lovely big Finlay is happy again x

8 thoughts on “Times Are A Changing.

  1. Good to hear your Finlay is happy. Our daughter went through a horrible experience with her horse a few years ago, so stressful. He is now a happy boy as well and has even managed to make a few friends:)

  2. I’m so happy for both of you. I know that my horse’s welfare is the most important thing when it comes to where he’s stabled. As long as he’s happy, I’m happy. … Wishing you both well in the new digs … 🙂

  3. Wow, this leaves me wondering what the heck was going on in the old yard that you weren’t aware of! I can’t believe he settled so quickly after being such a worrywart. I’m behind the times, have you sold your truck? Or did you still have it there to move him?
    Isn’t it great when the kids are in school? The whole morning is YOURS!
    xx

Leave a Reply

