And The Penny Drops…..

A couple of days ago I was reading an interesting blog about Fibromyalgia. As the writer detailed her triggers of the condition, suddenly the light bulb went off.

In December of 2002 after 12 months of renting various properties I bought a house. I didn’t have much in the way of help with the move so did most of the furniture removal myself. It was a long and physically demanding weekend but by the sunday night it was done and myself and Ben who was 11 years old at the time, were happy to be in our own house again.

The following day I woke up with a strange stiffness in my joints. Standing on my feet was quite painful. I thought it was just because I had lifted many heavy boxes and furniture that my body felt so stiff but as the day wore on it got worse. The next morning I had to drive 12 miles to the nearest supermarket. By the time I got there my hands were ceased up from holding the steering wheel. I couldn’t open my fingers.

I walked around the store trying to hold the shopping basket but everything I did was painful. That evening I began to suspect something was really wrong and the next day went to see my Doctor.

I was told it was viral but the Doctor took bloods to check for arthritis. A few days later my symptoms eased, the blood results were negative and I didn’t give it much more thought. That is until September 2004.

After a particularly horrible break-up with my boyfriend I had another attack of this ‘virus’ . I had to stay in bed for 3 days. It felt like my body had shut down, like I had reach my stress limit so my body said , no more, and just stopped working. I don’t know how else to explain it. Aching joints, pains, exhaustion, slight cold/flu symptoms. This time I put two and two together and realised this was a reaction to stress.

My Doctor insisted it was post viral syndrome.

Over the last 10 years I have had various attacks, never as physically debilitating as the first one but exhausting and painful none the less. And always after heightened levels of stress or trauma.

It never occurred to me until recently that this might be fibro but the more I read the more Im convinced. As an IC sufferer I realise that many who have this condition also have Fibromyalgia and all my symptoms fit what others have described. In some way it is actually easier to deal with now, knowing what it is, knowing that it will pass and doing my best to look after myself in the hope these attacks are as infrequent as possible.

I have noticed that these days it feels like a more underlining illness all the time, I never really feel well. My IC is worse now too so maybe the two are linked, if one gets worse so does the other. I have been under financial strain for over six months so my stress levels are constantly raised, this doesn’t help. But now knowing whats wrong will help me deal with it in the future.

8 thoughts on “And The Penny Drops…..

  1. I actually think fibro is my central underlying condition and the IC is one of the extra special illnesses that tagged onto it. To put it a different way, I see fibro as being more of a syndrome with varying manifestations.

  2. Many people that I know with fibromyalgia also have IC so I do think it’s linked. I would find a doctor that can determine if you have the trigger points for fibro so that you can get on the right course of action, whether it be certain exercises or medication. Good luck and hope you feel better!

  3. Interesting. I hope that knowing it’s fibromyalgia can help you narrow down the triggers… although knowing that stress is a trigger is not particularly helpful 😦
    Did you ever try yoga? It might help the stress and a side effect is that it keeps you lovely & supple for riding 🙂

    • It seems I’ve had it for years but anytime I ask GP I was fobbed off. Yoga might help although not sure if it would help with the exhaustion. Don’t have spare pennies for classes right now lol

Leave a Reply

